Improving Basketball & Recognizing Players & Coaches in Maine
Maine Association of Basketball Coaches

McDonald's All Star Weekend

Awards Presented at 2021 Virtual Awards Ceremony

2021 MABC - Maine McDonalds Award Winners

  • 01-Jaycie-Christopher.jpg
  • 02-Aidan-Sullivan.jpg
  • 03-ij-pinkham.jpg
  • 04-WHOU.jpg
  • 05-Lauren-Mango.jpg
  • 06-Amanda-Kabantu.jpg
  • 07-Gemima-Motema.jpg
  • 08-Donovan-Kurt.jpg
  • 09-Kylie-Brown.jpg
  • 10-Zakary-Mills.jpg
  • 11-Emily-Archibald.jpg
  • 12-Cash-McClure.jpg

The Maine Association of Basketball, along with the Ronald McDonald House of Maine, hosted the 2021 Senior All-Star Awards Ceremony in a virtual format this year. Unable to host the normal All-Star Weekend festivities that we have become accustomed to, we wanted to continue to safely honor all those who excelled in the field of high school basketball in Maine.

The finalists for the girls state foul shooting championship were three-time champion Peyton Grant of Dexter, Adele Nadeau of Gorham, Maya Cooney of Nokomis, Faith Sjoberg of Presque Isle, and Jaycie Christopher Skowhegan. Christopher made 68 of 70 shots in the finals to claim the championship. The boys finalists were Will Harriman of Biddeford, Grant Nadeau of Gorham, Aidan Sullivan of Marshwood, and Jason Desisto of Orono. Sulliva sank 47 of 50 shots in the finals and was crowned the 2021 state foul shooting champion.

The Bob Brown Contributor Award went to former Boothbay Region HS basketball coach IJ Pinkham. Pinkham retired as the second winningest boys coach in the history of Maine Basketball.

The MABC Media Award was presented to WHOU-FM out of Houlton. WHOU has been covering Maine basketball for many years and now has expanded its offerings by includine online streaming of games in the state.

In lieu of the Slam Dunk and Three Point Shooting contests, this year we asked players from around the state to submit a video of their best Trick Shot. Based on social media voting, the winner was Mt. Ararat's Lauren Mango, who sunk a back-to-the-basket, on-her-knees, half court shot to take the crown.

The Patrick Thibodeau Spirit of the Game Award was presented to Amanda Kabantu and Gemima Motema of Portland High School. Both Amanda and Motema came to America from the Democratic Republic of the Congo four years ago for a basketball tournament in California and were told to stay here as it was not safe to return. Having a cousin in Maine, they moved here and have been outstanding students and athletes.

The Josh Titus Spirit of the Game Award was won by Nokomis High School's Donovan Kurt. Donovam, who was diagnosed with a brain tumor in March of 2020, had a 10-hour surgery to remove the tumor. Despite weeks of treatment that followed, Donovan was determined to play sports this year. He has accomplished that goal and has been an inspiration to all who have been fortunate to be around him.

The Maine McDonalds Owner Operators and the Ronald McDonald House of Maine awarded two $2000 scholaships again this year. The recipients were Kylie Brown of Boothbay Region HS and Zakary Mills of Penquis Valley High School. Kylie was a four year three-sport athlete for the Seahawks, is a member of the Interact Club and National Honor Society and plans to study Chemical Engineering in college. Zakary played both soccer and baskeball for four years, and is a member of the National Honor Society and Student Council. A cancer survivor 5 years ago, Zakary plans to study sports journalism at Husson University.

The final awards of the night were for the Miss and Mr Maine Basketball. The finalists for the girls were Gemima Motema of Portland High School, Emily Archibald of Kennebunk High School, and of Camille Clement of Greely High School. This year's winner is Archibald, who had over 1,000 points and rebounds in her high school career. The two-time SMAA Player of the Year was a four year captain for Kennebunk. She was last year's Maine Gatorade POY. This year she averaged 26 points and over 20 rebounds per game. She plans to attend Providence College on a full scholarship.

The boys finalists were Cash McClure of Maranacook HS, Parker Desjardins of Forest Hills, and Payton Jones of Thornton Academy. The winner of the 2021 Mr. Maine Basketball is McClure, the reigning KVAC Player of the Year. Last year he led the Black Bears to the Tournament Finals and was named the Tourney MVP and has led the KVAC in scoring the past two seasons.  This season he averaged 27 points, 8 rebounds, 7 assists, and almost 5 steals a game.