Improving Basketball & Recognizing Players & Coaches in Maine
Maine Association of Basketball Coaches

McDonald's All Star Weekend

Awards Presented at 2021 Virtual Awards Ceremony

2021 MABC - Maine McDonalds Award Winners

  • 01-Jaycie-Christopher.jpg
  • 02-Aidan-Sullivan.jpg
  • 03-ij-pinkham.jpg
  • 04-WHOU.jpg
  • 05-Lauren-Mango.jpg
  • 06-Amanda-Kabantu.jpg
  • 07-Gemima-Motema.jpg
  • 08-Donovan-Kurt.jpg
  • 09-Kylie-Brown.jpg
  • 10-Zakary-Mills.jpg
  • 11-Emily-Archibald.jpg
  • 12-Cash-McClure.jpg

The Maine Association of Basketball, along with the Ronald McDonald House of Maine, hosted the 2021 Senior All-Star Awards Ceremony in a virtual format this year. Unable to host the normal All-Star Weekend festivities that we have become accustomed to, we wanted to continue to safely honor all those who excelled in the field of high school basketball in Maine.

The finalists for the girls state foul shooting championship were three-time champion Peyton Grant of Dexter, Adele Nadeau of Gorham, Maya Cooney of Nokomis, Faith Sjoberg of Presque Isle, and Jaycie Christopher Skowhegan. Christopher made 68 of 70 shots in the finals to claim the championship. The boys finalists were Will Harriman of Biddeford, Grant Nadeau of Gorham, Aidan Sullivan of Marshwood, and Jason Desisto of Orono. Sulliva sank 47 of 50 shots in the finals and was crowned the 2021 state foul shooting champion.

The Bob Brown Contributor Award went to former Boothbay Region HS basketball coach IJ Pinkham. Pinkham retired as the second winningest boys coach in the history of Maine Basketball.

The MABC Media Award was presented to WHOU-FM out of Houlton. WHOU has been covering Maine basketball for many years and now has expanded its offerings by includine online streaming of games in the state.

In lieu of the Slam Dunk and Three Point Shooting contests, this year we asked players from around the state to submit a video of their best Trick Shot. Based on social media voting, the winner was Mt. Ararat's Lauren Mango, who sunk a back-to-the-basket, on-her-knees, half court shot to take the crown.

Read more ...

2021 McDonald's Virtual All-Star Team Awards Banquet

Click the play button below to view the Maine McDonalds Senior All-Star Virtual Award Banquet

March 19, 2021 6:00 pm




2021 McDonald's All Stars

Maine McDonalds All Star Games Logo blackThis year's McDonald's All Star Festivities will be virtual due to COVID-19 restrictions. For more information regarding the 2021 McDonald's Senior All Stars, go to

2020 McDonald's All Star Weekend March 6-7

Bangor, Maine: McDonald's All Star weekend is coming to Bangor March 6th and 7th. Festivities will open with an Awards Banquet on Friday night at the Anah Shrine Hall, 1404 Broadway. Several Awards are given out at this banquet, including All-Star players, All-Star coaches, Academic Team players, Foul Shooting Champions, Spirit of the Game nominees, Bob Brown Contributor, MABC Media recipient, and Mr. and Miss Basketball. Tickets for this event must be purchase in advance.

rmd logo 150The weekend continues with the state foul shooting championship and a slate of 4 games on Saturday. Teams from the North will compete against their Southern counterparts in a fun and worthwhile event. 100% of the net proceeds will directly benefit the children and families served by Ronald McDonald House Charities of Maine. Tickets for these games must be purchased at the door.

For more detailed information, including a link to purchase banquet tickets, visit the official McDonald's Senior All Star website at

For compete writeups of the weekends events and award winners, click here.

Weekend photo gallery viewable at     rvg photos logo 180


North Girls Open All-Star Saturday with Victory

In the opening game of the 2020 McDonalds Senior All Star Weekend at Husson University, the North girls representing classes AA, A, and B were victorious over AASouthDrivertheir southern counterparts 95-84.  The North opened up a 45-34 lead after the first half behind the sharp shooting of Silver Clukey of Winslow High School, who drained 4 3-pointers. Paige Espling of Caribou scored 6 of her 7 points in that half.  

In the second half Nina Howe of York HS scored 9 points as the South made runs in an attempt to catch the North, but the northern girls responded to every challenge to win comfortably. Cecelia Dieterich, teammate of Miss Maine Basketball Julia Colby at Oxford Hills, led the North with 22 points. davina kabantuClukey finished with 18 and Davina Kabantu of Portland HS added 10.

The South was led by Maggie Whitmore of South Portland HS and Brooke Obar of Greely HS, who each scored 15 points. Howe finished with 13 points while Jordan Grant of Gray-New Gloucester HS tallied 11. 

South Boys Win 124-99 in Game Two

In the second game of the 2020 McDonalds Senior All Star Weekend, the high-scoring South AA/A/B boys defeated the North, 124-99. The South came out firing to open up a 64-49 halftime lead. Leyton Bickford, a 6’5” shooting guard/forward who averaged 19 PPG for Sanford HS, logan bagshawled the South with 11 first half points. Jackson Curtis of Ellsworth HS dropped in 9 points to pace the North in the first half.

The South continued its strong offensive display in the second half and closed out the game with a 60-53 second half for the victory.

The South was led by Mr. Maine Basketball finalist Logan Bagshaw, a 6’3” guard from Greely HS, who scored 20 points. Maxwell Murray of Kennebunk and Geremi Baez of South Portland HS each scored 19, while Bickford finished with 17. State Foul Shooting Champion Will MacDonald from York HS added 16 points and South Portland’s Pamba Pamba dropped in 11.

jackson curtisCurtis finished with 15 points on 5 three pointers to lead the North offense. Scoring 13 points each were Parker Deprey of Caribou HS and Mr. Maine Basketball Bryce Lausier of Hampden Academy. Other players scoring in double figures for the South were Max Cresser of Edward Little HS and Owen Williams of Maine Central Institute, who each scored 11.